Naima Bock Shares Official Video For “Campervan”

Giant Palm Available Worldwide on July 1st, 2022 via Sub Pop Records/Memorials of Distinction

0
59
Photo Credit: El Hardwick
       

Today Naima Bock is sharing a new video for “Campervan,” directed by Cassidy Hansen, and a standout from Giant Palm, her forthcoming full-length debut.

Naima says of the track, “Campervan” is another collaboration between myself and producer Joel Burton. This is a song about the falling apart of a relationship and the bleak impact that it seems to have on us as humans and the renewal that it can provide afterwards. We thought it would be fun to approach the song from a more tongue-in-cheek perspective; Joel’s arrangements draw on western cowboy nostalgia as well as orchestral influences such as ‘Concierto de Aranjuez’ by Joaquin Rodrigo and ‘Pure Imagination’ from the 1971 Willy Wonka film. The process of writing the song was a joyful and creative one, turning something depressing into something that doesn’t take itself too seriously whilst preserving the poignancy and melodrama of heartache.”

Naima Bock’s international touring schedule in support of Giant Palm resumes Friday, June 17th with a stop at Edinburgh, Scotland’s Hidden Door Festival, and currently runs through Monday, October 27th for a show at London’s ICA. Please find a full list of dates below and on naimabock.com

Fri. Jun. 17 – Edinburgh, UK – Hidden Door Festival
Sun. Jun. 26 – Somerset, UK – Glastonbury Festival
Fri. Jul. 01 –  London, UK – Rough Trade East
Sat. Jul. 23 – Southwold, UK – Latitude Festival
Thu. Sep. 01- Sun. 04 – Dorset, UK – End of the Road Festival
Fri. Sep. 09 – Sat. Sep. 10 – Vienna, AT – Waves Festival
Thu. Sep. 15 – Sat. Sep. 17 – Oslo, NO – by:Larm
Tue. Sep. 20 – Leipzig, DE – UT Connewitz *
Wed. Sep. 21 – Hamburg, DE – RBF *
Thu. Sep. 22 – Berlin, DE – Prachtwerk *
Fri. Sep 23 – Cologne, DE – Theater der Wohngemeinschaft *
Sat. Sep. 24 – Munich, DE – Heppel & Ettlich *
Tue. Sep. 27 – Nijmegen, NL – Doomrosje *
Thu. Sep. 29 – Brugge – BE – Cactus *
Tue. Oct. 11 – Brighton, UK – The Prince Albert
Wed. Oct. 12 – Bristol, UK – The Cube
Thu. Oct. 13- Manchester, UK – Guillivers
Sun. Oct. 16 – Birmingham, UK – Hare & Hounds 2
Fri. Oct. 21 – Glasgow, UK – Hug & Pint
Sat. Oct. 22 – Leeds, UK –  Mill Hill Chapel
Sun. Oct. 23 – Newcastle, UK – Cumberland Ave
Mon. Oct. 27 – London, UK – ICA
* w/ Dana Gavanski

Giant Palm, will be out July 1st, 2022, and is now available for preorder/presave on CD/LP/DSPs from Sub Pop/Memorials of Distinction. Pre-orders from megamart.sub pop.comselect independent retailers in North America, and in the UK, and in Europe will receive the Loser Edition of the album on orange vinyl.

Born in Glastonbury to a Brazilian father and a Greek mother, Naima spent her early childhood in Brazil before eventually returning to England and various homes in South-East London. This heritage combines with more recent pursuits in Naima’s music; from the Brazilian standards that the family would listen to driving to the beach, to the European folk traditions she tapped into on her own, and the pursuits that interest her today – studies in archaeology, work as a gardener, and walking the world’s great trails – Naima’s music draws from family, the earth and the handing down of music through generations.

Tracklisting:
1. Giant Palm
2. Toll
3. Every Morning
4. Dim Dum
5. Working
6. Natural
7. Campervan
8. Enter the House
9. Instrumental
10. O Morro