Clare Dunn embraces female power in newly released “REAL THING” EP


Clare Dunn knows there’s no wrong way to be a woman, and on her ‘REAL THING’ EP, available everywhere via Big Yellow Dog Music, she embraces female power in love, self-image, pain, and more. 

“‘REAL THING’ walks through the journey of not being afraid to be exactly who you are as a woman — whether that means standing up for yourself, not being afraid to express your emotions when you’ve been blown off, not being afraid to fall head-over-heels in love, or not being afraid to accept yourself as you are,” says Dunn. “There’s no wrong way to be a woman.”

The new music is sonically experimental, blending her soul-charged country vocals with her electrifying guitar riffs and disco-leaning beats. “No Reservations” is an upbeat jam encouraging listeners to live in the moment without fear, while “Real Thing” shows that authenticity makes those moments even more special. Dunn isn’t afraid to be vulnerable on songs like “Unread,” using a play on words to prove that technology can be the death of modern romance and relates to anyone who has felt hurt by someone who leaves their texts on read. “No Wrong Way” is the culmination of the project’s theme, disposing all of the labels people put on women — “too tall,” “too short,” “too weak,” “too strong” — and finding strength in imperfection. Closing track “We Are” celebrates the tailor-made moments in a relationship.

‘REAL THING’ was entirely produced and co-written by Dunn while at her family’s ranch in Southeast Colorado. It features co-writes by some of Nashville’s top talent, including Luke Dick (Miranda Lambert), Liz Rose (Taylor Swift), Connie Harrington (Lee Brice’s “I Drive Your Truck”) and others.

 ‘REAL THING’ tracklist:

**Produced by Clare Dunn**

1. No Reservations (Clare Dunn, Liz Rose, Luke Dick)
2. Real Thing (Dunn & Jenn Decilveo)
3. Unread (Dunn, Joseph Patton, Josh Gabbard)
4. No Wrong Way (Dunn, Rose, Ben West)
5. We Are (Dunn, Connie Harrington, Mark Holman)